Not so much fun: rejoicing cheers come in through the open balcony door as I witness the registration of a throw in on my television during the match Brazil – The Netherlands. What happened? Correction: What will happen? Answer: a goal on our side that the celebrators saw seconds before me because they were watching the soccer match through cable television.

The visual advantages of digital TV don’t seem to win from liveness at this summer’s collective national television moments. Watching digital transforms my living room into another time space. One that is interrupted by the broadcasting reality of an older technology. Realities that can be switched between and that are both live in the sense of their ongoing showing of sport images. Realities that are both delayed in their transfer from South Africa, but choosing the one that is closest to the live reality pays.

Second goal, seen by me in real cable time.