It appears to me that the further you are away from home, the more you feel the urge to connect to things from home. Speak to people whose family originates from the Netherlands or who have visited briefly once in their life unleashed a happy feeling. I even found myself eager to sing along with Dutch songs I normally would never listen to at home.

Me in front of a poster at Melbourne Southern Cross station.

Thus, I found myself greatly at home in front of this huge poster of Amsterdam presented by an airline operator Emirates at Melbourne’s Southern Cross station. I actually always feel desperate when mentioning Amsterdam to people who want to know where I’m from, because The Netherlands are so much more than their capital. But even if I don’t live there it feels like my home, and I hope I am excused living close by and having worked there.